I Have a Story for You

Danna Reich Colman
2 min readMay 5, 2016

I almost never engage in conversation without telling a good story. Something reminds me of something, and then that something reminds me of something else. So when telling the story, I rarely just talk about the meat of it because there are vegetables, too. And oh, let’s not forget about the dessert!

I’d also love to hear your stories, but if you’re not in the mood or don’t have anything you want to say, you’re welcome to just sit down and listen. You may decide you have something to add after a while, or you may feel like you want to interject a bit here and there. That’s okay, too, but please don’t ask me to get to the point. I don’t want to. I want to tell you the whole story!

I wasn’t always a storyteller. In fact, this side of me wasn’t evident until I was in psychoanalysis in my late twenties. When you’re lying on the analyst’s couch, you’re supposed to free associate, which means saying everything and anything that comes to mind without censoring any of your thoughts. In other words, whatever you’re thinking inside your head is not allowed to stay there. You’re given permission to talk without stopping — or at least until your hour is up.

After psychoanalysis, I never quite got my mute button to work the way it did prior to therapy. It’s not a bad thing; in fact, I’ve been told by many that I’m quite engaging and captivating. However, I should tell you that I did leave my husband of a few years because, among other things, he told me to get to the point in front of another couple we met one evening. They told him he was rude and that he shouldn’t interrupt. And they told me to continue with my “interesting story.” He said he was just trying to get a few words in. Well, he should have said something!

So if you’re one of those that enjoys hearing the whole story, sit down for a while, and I’ll tell you something interesting. Oh, do I have a story for you!

Thanks for reading my story. Please click the below if you enjoyed this story to make it easier for others to find.

You can find more stories by Danna Colman here.

--

--

Danna Reich Colman

Writer, author and copyeditor. “What doesn’t kill us gives us something new to write about” ~ J. Wright